Legislative Update, Legislature, State Legislature

Senator Caballero Is New Tax Policy Committee Chair

anna caballero

Senator Anna Caballero, a Democrat who represents a district in Merced, has been named chair of the Senate Governance and Finance Committee – the tax policy committee in the upper house. Caballero succeeds Senator Mike McGuire, who was moved to a leadership position by Senate President Pro Tem Toni Atkins.

“As steward over proposals that will provide relief and support for working families and small businesses, I look forward to continued service to my district and the state of California through this position,” Caballero said in a written statement. “In our current time of great economic uncertainty, it is important that the Legislature provide long-term investments and support for working families in order to sustain the 5th largest economy in the world and to ensure that prosperity is shared by all.”

“Throughout her career as a local and statewide public servant, Senator Caballero has ensured working families –particularly those from rural areas – are always at the forefront of policy conversations,” Atkins said in a written statement. “I have no doubt she will continue to make the needs of workers, farmers, and middle and lower income families central to decisions being made by the Senate Governance and Finance Committee.”

The other four members of the committee remain unchanged: Senators Jim Nielsen (vice chair and the only Republican on the panel), Maria Elena Durazo, Robert Hertzberg, and Scott Wiener.

On the other side of the Capitol, Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon has not yet announced a replacement for Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee chair Autumn Burke, who resigned from the Legislature on January 31.

In other legislative changes:

Gallagher Elected Assembly Republican Leader. Assembly Member James Gallagher was unanimously elected this week to serve as Assembly Republican Leader, succeeding Assembly Member Marie Waldron in that role. Gallagher, who represents a district in Yuba City, said in a written statement:

“I am grateful for the trust my colleagues have placed in me to help lead our caucus and work to better the lives of Californians up and down the state. Assemblymember Waldron has been a tremendous leader for us winning victories throughout California. I plan to build on her legacy as the new leader of the caucus.”

Republicans currently hold 19 of the Assembly’s 80 seats, while Democrats hold 55 seats and there are five vacancies in districts previously represented by Democrats. Only one Assembly member is not affiliated with any political party: former Assembly Republican Leader Chad Mayes, who dropped his party affiliation in late 2019.